Monday, 9 February 2009

The Black Lips - 200 Million Thousand [2009]

Garage rock veterans, The Black Lips will following up the widely successful Good Bad Not Evil with the release of 200 Million Thousand. Simple, straightforward songwriting mesh perfectly with the Black Lips distinctive howl to create atime capsule rife with nods to simple pleasures and a world of worry.Critics darlings, The Black Lips have received previous acclaim from Rolling Stone, Spin, Filter, Magnet, Stop Smiling, The Fader, Anthem, Paste, and The NY Times to name a few.Heralded by Rolling Stone as "one of the best livebands in America," there will be ample opportunity to see Black Lips do what they do best - whip a crowd into a pure ball of drunk, unpredictable energy. After a release week showin their hometown of Atlanta, GA, the band will embark on a month long tour in March presented by Myspace Music, which will bring them to the Northeast, Midwest, SXSW and theSoutheast. They hit the West Coast for the last two weeks of April.

*link removed by request*
- buy when available

Kawabata Makoto - Rainbow of Love [2009]

Brand new solo record from one of the most prolific Japanese recording artists around right now. Most people will know Kawabata Makoto as the guitar wielding shredder from Acid Mother Temple. This brand new solo recording is a two piece epic of some of the most beautiful tones I've heard in a while. Side A's 'You Are From The Rainbow Over The Sea' is an piece of bowed beauty, taking you to a higher plain of consciousness. The B Side's 'Waiting For You Till The End Of The Rainbow' is just as cosmic as its predecessor with cascading waterfalls of tones washing over you again and again... kinda reminds me of some of the Inui series, which is probably some of my favourite material from Makoto. Edition of only 265 copies in screen printed white sleeves with artwork by Darryl Norsen.

The Juan MacLean - The Future Will Come [2009]

Although the Juan MacLean’s debut album, Less Than Human, featured plenty of guest contributions, it was ostensibly a solo project from former Six Finger Satellite guitarist John MacLean. The Future Will Come was constructed in a similar manner, and features a number of vocal and musical guests, including singer Nancy Whang and MacLean’s DFA label boss James Murphy. The first single from the record, the ebullient techno-house hybrid “Happy House,” was the first signifier of The Future Will Come’s buoyant tone, and MacLean describes it as “a disco inflected Human League sounding record.” Plenty of duets between MacLean and Whang feature, with the latter firmly establishing her role in the band during her time-off from touring with LCD Soundsystem.

1. The Simple Life
2. The Future Will Come
3. One Day
4. A New Bot
5. Tonight
6. No Time
7. Accusations
8. The Station
9. Human Disaster
10. Happy House